2019 Bronze Swagman Award
2017 Junior Festival
2018 Bronze Swagman
2017 Bronze Swagman
2016 Bronze Swagman
2015 Bronze Swagman
2014 Bronze Swagman
2013 Bronze Swagman
2012 Bronze Swagman
2011 Bronze Swagman
Rusty Reagan
Book Order
Poems from the Past 
40 years of history...
40 Years book
Past winners
Past Runner's Up

2018 Bronze Swagman


Thanks to all the entrants. The entries have been returned from the adjudicator.

Jim Kent, Port Fairy, Vic
with Goodaye, Old Mate-
Runner Up:
Shelley Hansen, Maryborough,
Qld  with The Storyteller
Highly Commended:
Tim Borthwick, Toowoomba, Qld
with Billy Mateer
Brenda Joy, Charters Towers, Qld
with Ghosts of Gold
Geof Grundy, Little Mountain, Qld
 with Giving Something Back
Chris Taylor, Bunbury, WA
with Swampy
Hugh Allan, Turramurra, NSW
 with The Girl From Mataranka
Tom McIlveen , Port Macquarie, NSW
 with Pappinbarra Burning

Kelly Dixon

169 entries from the USA, NZ and Australia

*2018 book due approx. September

*Poets selected for inclusion in the 2018 book are:
Jim Kent, Shelley Hansen, Geof Grundy, Hugh Allan, Chris Taylor, Tom McIlveen, Tim Borthwick, Brenda Joy, Patricia Coy, Darcy Lloyd, Tony Hammill, Yvonne Harper, Terry Piggott, John Roberts, Steve McGinnis, Peter Rich, Jet Jones, Derek Bland, Keith Lethbridge, Leonie Parker, Mrs Jill Mary Gold, Shelley Hansen, Donald Crane, Donald Adams, Peter White,Marco Gliori, Robyn Sykes, Elizabeth Tobal, Lyle Arnold, Jack Drake, Peter O'Shaughnessy,Peg Vickers, Jan Craig, Patricia Russell, Helen Harvey, Valerie P Read, Mr Graeme Johnson and Val Wallace. Some poets have multiple poems in the book. As soon as they are printed I will post one per entry form. Copies will then be available for general sale.

Entries for the 2019 48th annual Bronze
Swagman Award for Bush Verse are now
open with information at

More info here as it arrives.
Jeff Close
Hon Bronze Swagman Co-ordinator